About Us

The ABC Training Trust is a registered charity (no: 1123559) set up by the Association of British Climbing Walls (ABC) in 2008 to administer the NICAS scheme.

The Scheme is supported by

Board of Trustees

The ABCTT has a board of trustees. They currently comprise:

  • Neil Wightwick (Chair) – Blairvadach Outdoor Centre (ABC member)
  • Andy Reid (Treasurer) –Mile End Climbing Wall (ABC–appointed representative)
  • Jez Tapping –Westway Climbing Centre (ABC member)
  • Ben Levey – The Castle (ABC member)
  • Brian McAlinden – The Climbing Works (ABC member)
  • Elizabeth Holley – (non–ABC member)
  • Carys Rowlands – (non–ABC member)
  • Jaka Lednik – (non–ABC member)
  • John Roberts – (non–ABC member)


  • Guy Jarvis –Mountain Training England Executive Officer
  • James McHaffie – BMC
  • Jamie Smith – Climb Scotland

ABCTT Officers:

  • Martin Chester – Executive Office
  • Iain McKenzie – Technical Officer
  • Anne Garnish – Administrative & Finance Officer
  • Abbi Blakey – Project Development Officer


Provider Login